Facebook Logo Twitter Logo

Derwent Celebrate With Champagne Moment

The rise of Derwent Brass from Fourth Section obscurity to the brink of the Albert Hall was celebrated recently!

Quick on the heals of the band's greatest contest result, with a resounding 3rd place in the Midland Area Championships Section at Bedworth,  the members, patrons and friends met for their Annual Dinner Dance and Awards evening, at Mickleover Court Derby.

Two awards are voted for by the band membership the first of which was "The Players Player of the Year" award which went to Euphonium Star, Adam Rutter. This year brought a unique scenario where the Champagne Moment, which is usually an individual award for a special playing moment or faux pas during the year was voted as a "full band" award for the performance of St Magnus at Bedworth. Adam accepted that on behalf of the band as most reckoned his solo was outstanding. 

The Mike Richardson Memorial Trophy for "Bands Person of the Year" was awarded to Chris Leonard for his tireless magnificent work behind the scenes for Derwent Brass.  

Finally, Chairman Nev Eden took the time to make a special recognition presentation of an Engraved Baton to Musical Director, Keith Leonard. Keith has been MD since 1993 and in many respects has seen as "Mr Derwent" taking the band from the brink of the 4th section to the current strong position in the Championship section. 

The evening was graced by the attendance and support of patrons, Roy Poole, Nancy Bird and Steven Blakely. 

A good night was had by one and all!



< < < Back to the news archive